Social Media Blues

When I started this thing I was so motivated and had so many ideas of things to write about. Now I can’t think of anything to write to save my life. I thought getting rid of distractions like social media, alcohol, and friends was supposed to inspire creativity? So far all I’ve done with this extra time is sleep and watch my favorite shows over again.

Although I can’t think of anything to write about, this break from social media has made me much more relaxed than normal. I deleted Facebook and Instagram at the beginning of January (well, deleted the apps from my phone) and I don’t plan on checking them until February. Facebook was becoming so full of negativity, politics, and happy families that it wasn’t even worth the memes and making fun of people I don’t like. Instagram wasn’t that bad; it was mainly just a way to make people think my life is one big adventure. With that being said, I’m sure I’ll get back on IG so I can promote this new, interesting blog and show people all the cool things I’ve been up to. Or just to post pictures of nature with cool captions and hashtags.

What is the point of social media anyway? I mean, I understand the innocent idea that it’s a good way to keep in touch with old friends and family members, but that concept is more for older people who actually care about their old friends and family. For all the middle aged people and kids 30 and under, it seems to be about over-sharing about their baby’s most recent blowout and who’s getting surgery next.

Not to say that I was innocent in all of that. I occasionally posted a long status about my life and the things I’ve been up to, but it was usually about the more important events. I remember posting about graduating college, losing weight, and moving to Nevada. I’m sure there was a lot more that I shared about (and I’m sure my friends that read this will kindly point that out to me), but oh well. Every day I get more scared that life will turn into that Black Mirror episode where you can see everyone’s social media ranking and life is based on that. I see it happening in the near future honestly.

I’m mainly scared of that happening because I know my score would only be average at best.

But, if having a super high score and social status becomes one of my top goals, just go ahead and put me out of my misery. Please.

One thought on “Social Media Blues

  1. I think you under estimate yourself . you could tell us about your trip to the hot springs,the naked guy, the fear of climbing ladders that you over came, the awesomeness of the Colorado River maybe it inspires you to go river rafting someday🤔and all saying that with your fabulous sense of humor we know and love ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment